Christmas Cactus

It’s a Christmas miracle, my two Christmas Cacti both had blooms on them for Christmas this year.

009

I’ve had both plants for over 10 years, But I think this is the first time they have actually bloomed for Christmas.

As I was writing this post I realized I was unsure if cacti was the correct plural for cactus.  Turns out either cacti ( which is the Latin plural) or cactuses ( which is the English plural) is correct.    I also learned that these plants are part of the genus schlumbergera, and only grow wild in the south east of Brazil.  They grow on trees or rocks and grow up to 4 feet tall.  Guess my plants have something to strive for.

This entry was posted in gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

